Socom 1 servers down???

Where to discuss topics about PS2 gaming not related to its online aspect.
Post Reply
gruby135
Level 1: Deer Hunter
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:46 pm
Xlink Kai Setup?: no

Socom 1 servers down???

Post by gruby135 » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:03 pm

HI.can enyone tell me did servers in socom us navy seals(2002)are down?i need new information about situation (1 month ago not more)thx :mrgreen:
(gmt+1)

lazyhoboguy
site admin
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:23 pm
Xlink Kai Setup?: yes
Xlink Kai username: lazyhobobum
Location: west coast usa
Contact:

Re: Socom 1 servers down???

Post by lazyhoboguy » Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:25 am

Mytho checked the servers a few weeks ago and they were still up in the United States.Although, I believe the Socom servers were shutdown earlier this year in Europe.

mlove72
Level 1: Deer Hunter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 12:36 am
Xlink Kai Setup?: no

Re: Socom 1 servers down???

Post by mlove72 » Sat Apr 23, 2011 4:25 am

Are there Socom servers for Canada?

:D

(Took me long enough to be able to reply on this darn post! I hope someone answers...)

lazyhoboguy
site admin
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:23 pm
Xlink Kai Setup?: yes
Xlink Kai username: lazyhobobum
Location: west coast usa
Contact:

Re: Socom 1 servers down???

Post by lazyhoboguy » Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:38 am

Probably if the servers are still working in USA they are probably still working in Canada. I don't own the game anymore so I can't help too much.

User avatar
Scoopers
Level 6: Respectful Citizen Golf 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:16 pm
Xlink Kai Setup?: yes
Xlink Kai username: scoopers
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Socom 1 servers down???

Post by Scoopers » Sun Apr 24, 2011 3:42 pm

Isn't Canada played on either format, but mainly played in the PAL? Im wanting to think they play on the Europe servers more then the North American. A bit like Mexico play some on the South American and North American. Im thinking not 100% here, just played a game with a guy from Canada that I think mentioned something similar to that effect. :?:
No Shots Impossible, Its the shots missed that could be regretted.

(gmt-5)

Mytho
Level 41: Can't Think of More Ranks...Time to Split!
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:55 pm
Xlink Kai Setup?: yes
Xlink Kai username: xXxSeraphimxXx
Location: On the Homefront
Contact:

Re: Socom 1 servers down???

Post by Mytho » Sun Apr 24, 2011 8:52 pm

I would think Canada would play on American servers since they are on the NTSC standard. I've run into enough Canadian players over the years to suggest this as well.
(gmt-5)
Let Battlefield 2: Modern Combat go!

Viscosity
site admin
Posts: 681
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:15 pm
Xlink Kai Setup?: yes

Re: Socom 1 servers down???

Post by Viscosity » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 am

Here an image of where is which: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/c ... -SECAM.svg

North America uses NTSC, Japan uses NTSC-j, Everyone else uses PAL or Secam
(gmt-5)
Current Online Games: TSFP,TMBO, Project Snowblind, COD 2 BRO,Tribes, Champions: Return to Arms, Amplitude, Greg Hastings, XIII, Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3, Deer Hunter

User avatar
Scoopers
Level 6: Respectful Citizen Golf 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:16 pm
Xlink Kai Setup?: yes
Xlink Kai username: scoopers
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Socom 1 servers down???

Post by Scoopers » Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:10 am

I remember someone saying they bought a PAL PS2 and played in the Europe servers on Socom CA, idk if that is true or not I have never heard nor understand why someone would want to do that, also I never heard of SECAM so you learn something new everyday....of course I will forget it in 20 or 30 mins :oops:

Anyone know weather this is myth or fact? Where is myth busters LOL.
No Shots Impossible, Its the shots missed that could be regretted.

(gmt-5)

Viscosity
site admin
Posts: 681
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:15 pm
Xlink Kai Setup?: yes

Re: Socom 1 servers down???

Post by Viscosity » Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:38 pm

PAL and Secam are basically the same thing. They are solutions to use color on 50hz displays that Europe and Australia uses. We in America and Canada and Mexico use 60hz so NTSC is what we developed for tv. Of course this is Analog we have since moved onto ATSC and DVB in Europe for digital standards.

Also if you have a modded PS2 you can convert a PAL game to play on NTSC systems. If he had friends in Europe he probably did that. Also people in Mexico might have some PAL stuff because certain South American countries use PAL so it wouldn't be hard for them to get.
(gmt-5)
Current Online Games: TSFP,TMBO, Project Snowblind, COD 2 BRO,Tribes, Champions: Return to Arms, Amplitude, Greg Hastings, XIII, Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3, Deer Hunter

Post Reply