Hi there, new to here and PS system

New to the site? Post here to introduce yourself.
Willy
Level 1: Deer Hunter
Xlink Kai Setup?: no

Hi there, new to here and PS system

Post by Willy »

Hi,

I recently got my first PS system, a PS2 because of the ddr type games that are fun and good exercise. Getting online with xbox 360 and Wii RVL-001 were a breeze, but I have been met with a quick stumpification when I got error -611 trying to use the PS2 online start up disk. Began searching the web by googlemania and ended up here, which seems like a good place to find. I posted a question on my stumpification to the "Getting Setup Online" section, but that may have been for posting information rather than questions, so thought I would post in the noob section. BTW, I own a black PS2 slim SCPH-79001, hardware version 18, I believe. Here was my question (and I prefer cheetos)...

Hi everyone. Sorry to be a total noob, but I just got my first PS2, mostly for DDR expansion/exercise fun, and I have no idea how to get myself set up online with a PS2 with the DNAS business shut down. I put in the disk that came with the PS2 and the first thing I get after Broadband setup is the -661 error. Everything was pretty slick with the Wii RVL-001 and xbox 360, but what do I do to set up the online account? If this is elsewhere, I looked but could not find the way, so please direct me there or advise. :?

Thank you,
Willy
Last edited by Willy on Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Vedita BR
Level 17: Silly Sam: Previous Encounter
Xlink Kai Setup?: yes
Xlink Kai username: LtCarlos

Re: Hi there, new to here and PS system

Post by Vedita BR »

Hi, Willy. Welcome to PS2 Online Gaming!

For most games you need to use a custom DNS IP (Domain Name Server) on Your Network Configuration that is saved on your memory card...
Most games will work with this DNS 186.34.212.90
for others and more details check out this thread > http://www.ps2onlinegaming.com/forum/vi ... =10&t=1880